English Sixth Form - Pathway to Further Education

The Entry 1 Qualifications have been developed to allow recognition within the Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF) of achievement below the Entry Level of the National Qualifications Framework (NQF) and provides a framework of activities through which personal, social and independence skills can be developed at an appropriate level for those within the PFE group.This programme of work spans a wide range of achievement from the ability to encounter experiences to the ability to apply basic skills, knowledge and understanding to a range of familiar experiences. The curriculum specifications form a comprehensive package appropriate to the needs of each student, all of whom have complex physical and learning difficulties. The curriculum offers a breadth of relevant and stimulating learning opportunities.These can be used to address the PFE students’ individual objectives, which help to prepare these young people for adult life. Students participate in offsite community skills trips, developing skills towards supported independence.

Personal Progress is made up of units that can be divided into the following categories:

  • The Functional Skills of Literacy and Numeracy
  • ICT
  • Independent Living Skills
  • Personal Development
  • Community Participation
  • Preparation for Work

The qualifications are offered at Entry 1 and the Pre National Curriculum (P) Levels. Unit certification is available to recognise smaller steps of achievement by candidates who are unable to achieve the full requirements

Personal Progress Units:

To achieve the Entry 1 qualifications, PFE students must gain credits by completing units and provide evidence to demonstrate skills development, supported by photographic evidence and tutor written transcripts and unit assessment checklists. Each unit has a credit value. PFE learners combine units which are suited to their individual levels to reach the total minimum credit value of the qualification. The assessment criteria for students are setout in a range of standards (all within Entry 1) and expressed in stages on the achievement continuum. Their starting point on the continuum will be established before they begin their programme of learning relating to a Personal Progress Unit. Student’s physical abilities are also taken into consideration. Students could achieve assessment criteria at different levels within one unit creating a spiky profile.

The Achievement Continuum

Ten developmental stagesStage characteristics
1. EncounterCharacterised by presence and reflex responses
2. Early awarenessCharacterised by fleeting attention and inconsistent responses
3. InterestCharacterised by more consistent and differentiated responses
4. Supported participationCharacterised by cooperation and engagement
5. Active involvementCharacterised by recognition, anticipation and proactive responses
6. DevelopmentCharacterised by remembered responses and intentional communication
7. ExplorationCharacterised by concentration, recall and observation
8. InitiationCharacterised by established responses and conventional communication
9. ConsolidationCharacterised by the formation of skills, knowledge, concepts and understandings
10. ApplicationCharacterised by the application of skills, knowledge, concepts and understandings